Today 48

Yesterday 132

All 39244716

Saturday, 22.01.2022
eGovernment Forschung seit 2001 | eGovernment Research since 2001
Bihar bagged the Computer Society of India (CSI) Nihilent e-governance 'elecon' award for 2012-13 at the CSI annual convention in Visakhapatnam on Saturday. The e-governance initiative 'elecon' (for developing a scientific database on state election process) is a joint initiative of chief electoral officer, Bihar, and National Informatics Centre.

Technical director of NIC, Bihar, Shailesh Kumar Srivastava, received the award from J Satyanarayana, secretary, IT, government of India, and SV Raghavan, scientific secretary, office of the principal scientific adviser to the PM. "In total, 200 entries were received for this award," Srivastava told TOI over phone from Visakhapatnam.

The project has been completed under the guidance of Ajay V Nayak, chief electoral officer, Bihar, and Santosh Kumar, state informatics officer, NIC, Bihar. It was selected through III-tier process which also involved field visit by a CSI team of technical experts in November, 2013, followed by a presentation at IIT, Hyderabad.

The elecon software, which had won silver medal at the 11th National e-governance award, 2008, is the first software in the country to extensively use ICT in the election process.

Elecon generates various MIS reports for the returning officers (RO) and central observers besides incorporating web GIS modules for better management and planning. The project was initiated by NK Sinha, the then DM of Nalanda and currently principal secretary, IT department, and a team of NIC officers of Bihar way back 1991. The software is used to bring transparency and fairness in the poll practices, maintain data secrecy, and implement mechanism to weed out any kind of bias. Thorough analysis of ECI's guidelines and compendium of RO handbook has been studied before making the software.

The work flow is based on application system which leverages spatial and textual data to generate various MIS to serve and facilitate various levels of decision support to election machinery across 38 districts, 243 assembly and 40 parliamentary segments of Bihar to facilitate district administration and police administration, Election Commission of India, Srivastava said.


Autor(en)/Author(s): Pranava K Chaudhary

Quelle/Source: The Times of India, 16.12.2013

Bitte besuchen Sie/Please visit:

Go to top