Today 46

Yesterday 132

All 39244714

Saturday, 22.01.2022
eGovernment Forschung seit 2001 | eGovernment Research since 2001
The organising committee of the seventh eGovernment Excellence Award 2014 has announced that nominations are open to all interested participants until February 22.

The event is being held under the patronage of Deputy Prime Minister and Supreme Committee for Information and Communication Technology chairman Shaikh Mohammed bin Mubarak Al Khalifa.

In a statement, eGovernment Authority (eGA) vice-chief executive Dr Zakareya Ahmed Al Khaja highlighted eGovernment milestones and said that the authority is striving to promote innovation and support several initiatives concerned with information technology and development.

The organising committee of the awards event has introduced some changes in the seventh version - aligned with the emerging issues and keeping abreast with the latest developments within the ICT sector. The changes also came about in response to the feedback and suggestions given by participants, together with workshop results and discussion groups - in line with the key objectives of the National eGovernment Strategy 2016.

Dr Al Khaja said the ICT sector has witnessed rapid developments.

"The committee believed that it was necessary to focus on new themes such as the overall prevalence of social media use, increased use of services through smartphones, focus on entrepreneurship and youth empowerment to create job opportunities and business developments," he said.

"The eGovernment Excellence Award has, this year, witnessed a change in its categories with a core focus on implementing and broadening access to opportunities for greater and more meaningful participation - giving room for competition among larger sectors of applicants," he added.

Furthermore, the assigned committee decided to add three new categories such as eParticipation, Best App for Smart Devices and eEntrepreneur, and postponed the following three categories: eMaturity, Best Service Provider and eEducation.

Dr Al Khaja said that the committee's desire is to see participants being qualified to take part in the competition through workshops that will be organised during this month. Participants will also benefit from the committee's report and remarks which would be provided to assist them in improving disqualified projects.

This year's jury comprises highly-experienced international, GCC and local members. It is expected that they will finalise the evaluation of the registered projects by mid-March.

The winning projects will be announced during Bahrain International eGovernment Forum 2014 where Shaikh Mohammed will honour the winners.


Quelle/Source: Gulf Daily News, 23.01.2014

Bitte besuchen Sie/Please visit:

Go to top