Today 51

Yesterday 132

All 39244719

Saturday, 22.01.2022
eGovernment Forschung seit 2001 | eGovernment Research since 2001
With the recent announcement for the 2012 edition of the Sultan Qaboos Award for Excellence in eGovernment, the Information Technology Authority (ITA), as the organisation responsible for the management of the award programme, recently hosted an introductory workshop.

Fatma al Riyami, Project Manager for the Sultan Qaboos Award for Excellence in eGovernment, gave the welcoming address.

Following the opening remarks, Dr Bader Salim al Manthari, Executive — Information Security at ITA, and Giridhar Mechiri, an ITA Consultant, and members of the Award Evaluation Criteria Committee, gave a comprehensive presentation covering all aspects of the award.

The Sultan Qaboos Award for Excellence in eGovernment aspires to make qualitative transformation in the field of eGovernment services by honouring digital projects that deliver exceptional innovation and achievement in the field of information technology.

The award aims also to honour excellent performance, apply international standards in evaluating the degree of development in eServices, support Oman’s Digital Strategy, as well as strengthen IT and telecommunications in the fields of economic, social and cultural development.

Open to both private sector and government sector focal points, the workshop presented participants with a general overview of the award and highlighted new developments for 2012.

Additionally, the workshop also shared best practices from winners of the 2011 edition of the award, who also gave good suggestions and ideas, along with things to avoid as a participant in the award programme, said Susan Moores of ITA’s Information and Awareness Division in a press release.

For the two previous years of the award, the Government sector was the primary target segment. In 2010, there were seven awards in five award categories and subcategories: eContent, eService (G2G, G2B, and G2C), eProject, eEconomy and eReadiness.

The award website had a simple look and content with no brand. The evaluation jury members comprised international experts from around the world and the evaluation system was an automated process.

In 2011, additional categories were added; now there were ten awards in five award categories and subcategories: eContent, eService (G2G, G2B, G2C, G2E and Mobile), eProject (Individual, Collaborative), eEconomy and eReadiness.

The website was given a new brand with a special look and feel, and the content was enriched by the addition of a knowledge hub. The award evaluation was enhanced as well.

The evaluation jury members again was comprised of international experts from around, but this time the jury met with shortlisted entities, as well as there were assessment site visits for some categories (G2E, eProject and eReadiness).

For this year’s edition of the Sultan Qaboos Award for Excellence in eGovernment, there are some new changes.

This year the award has been expanded to include a new target segment, the Private sector, alongside the existing Government sector. This segment includes entities that provide public services in the following fields: health, education, electricity, finance, water, public transportation, telecommunication and environment. And for this new target segment, there are two new award categories: Best Public eService and Best Public Mobile Service.

With regard to the evaluation, jury members will again consist of world-renowned international experts. New for this year however, the jury will be able to access projects remotely before they arrive in Oman for the official jury evaluation sessions. eHealth checks, eMystery shopper and public voting will also take place.

Like last year, assessment site visits will be organised and the jury will meet with short-listed entities.

Two organisations, winners in 2011, were on hand to present their winning projects and share their best practices to workshop attendees.

Salim Said al Kalbani, Senior Projects Specialist in Information Systems with the Muscat Municipality presented the Municipality’s winning project ‘iMuscat — Mobile Application’.

This project won the Best Award for eService — Mobile Service. Badriya al Zadjali, IT Specialist, Internet & Design Section, Information Systems Department at the Ministry of Manpower was also available to speak about the Ministry of Manpower winning the Best Award for eProject (Collaborative Project), Employment Collaboration Project for Ministry of Manpower amd Pension Authority for Social Insurance (PASI).


Quelle/Source: Oman Daily Observer, 18.04.2012

Bitte besuchen Sie/Please visit:

Go to top