Today 50

Yesterday 132

All 39244718

Saturday, 22.01.2022
eGovernment Forschung seit 2001 | eGovernment Research since 2001

The fifth edition of the Sultan Qaboos Award for Excellence in eGovernment was announced on Monday.

Organisers said there will be three new categories this year including the Best eTransformation achievement, Best service supporting doing business and the Best eParticipation for decision-making initiative.

The announcement was made at a two-day workshop which began in the presence of Dr Salim bin Sultan al Ruzaiqi, CEO of Information Technology Authority (ITA) and representatives from government entities, private sector and SMEs. “This edition has been improved to world class standards in terms of award categories and criteria overseen by international experts in the field of eGovernance and digital services.

New categories have been included to recognise agility in eTransformation, use of eParticipation channels in decision making and integrated services under the whole-of-government vision and public services through mobile channels,” Dr Ruzaiqi was quoted in a press release as saying.

The first day of the workshop discussed the UN report on eGovernment and the global ranking of Oman. Dr Julia Glidden, an international expert in the field of eGovernment gave a presentation on trends and technologies including the UN eGovernment ranking and global benchmarking.

About Oman’s ranking, Dr Julia said, “Oman has witnessed an impressive rise in its overall UN ranking as the country’s score has jumped from 112 in 2005 to 48 in 2014.”

She added, “This tremendous improvement is attributed to a number of factors including the implementation of focused whole-of-government strategy to improve eService delivery, the proactive embrace of social media and mobile to engage with citizens, innovation and the regulatory and policy framework which are in place.”

In the second session of the workshop, Dr Ahmed al Hosni, a jury member, spoke on the award categories and criteria for 2016. He said, “The government entities can compete in eight categories: Best public service - government to employee, Best public service - government to citizens, Best mobile service - government to employee, Best mobile service - government to citizens, Best service supporting doing business, Best whole-of-government service, Best eParticipation for decision-making initiative and the Best eTransformation achievement.”

He added, “Private sector companies will be able to compete in the best private sector service, best private sector mobile service while SME companies can compete in the best SME service category.”

The second day of the workshop will see discussions on topics related to the participation and registration along with a presentation on the role of social media in decision making and making strategic impact.


Quelle/Source: Muscat Daily, 12.01.2016

Bitte besuchen Sie/Please visit:

Go to top